BTEC Level 3 – Certificate in Engineering (General pathway) – 9 unit

BTEC Level 3, 9-unit Certificate in Engineering (General – Electrical & Mechanical) gives you the knowledge, understanding and skills that are need to prepare for employment or higher qualifications. 

Course Code: L3E-AME9G (CGSM4)
Course and BTEC Reg Fee: £1425.00 or £120/mth
Format: On-line distance learning
Award: BTEC Level 3 Certificate in  Engineering (General) – 9 unit*
Accreditation: Pearson (Edexcel)
Study Time / Duration: Flexible –  up to 540 Hours
Requirements: Age: 18+ Yrs

In 2013, the UK government began to reform skills training,  with the aim of making them more rigorous and responsive to employers’ needs. Pearson (Edexcel) has been working closely with employer groups, referred to as Trailblazers, in the development of technical knowledge at BTEC level 3. These qualifications were designed to meet the requirements of an engineering apprenticeship and also to prepare students for progression to a range of higher education programmes. Under government business and educational rules, these qualifications have been designed to be:

  • relevant to individuals and employers and affordable for all sizes of business and for individuals
  • rigorous and based on a robust future-looking occupational standard designed and assessed by the sector
  • recognised as worthy of investment, giving a clear signal of the economically valuable skills, knowledge and understanding required in an occupation now and in the future.

Tecol has now been accredited by Pearson to offer these BTEC qualifications including this 9-unit Certificate. This new 9-unit course provides a greater choice of technical units and direct progression paths, such as HNC/D with pass grades

There is a great demand in industry for engineers that have a broad range of knowledge, covering both Mechanical and Electrical Engineering disciplines. Mechanical Engineering is concerned with the design, construction and operation of machines, structures and industrial plant used in a very wide range of industries. Electrical Engineering involves technology such as electrical generators, motors, and PLCs.

BTEC 9 Unit Cerificate (BTEC Level 3 on-line engineering course) – Qualification number (QN): 601/9049/8

This 9 unit course offers a balanced programme of electrical and mechanical systems and machines. You can find out more about the content by clicking on the units below:

  1. Health and Safety in the Engineering Workplace
  2. Mathematics for Engineering Technicians
  3. Communication for Engineering Technicians
  4. Applications of Mechanical Systems in Engineering
  5. Mechanical Principles and Applications
  6. Features and Applications of Electrical Machines
  7. Programmable Logic Controllers (PLCs)
  8. Engineering Drawing  for Technicians
  9. Electrical Technology

Select ‘Add to cart’ below to start your Diploma enrolment – £1425:

If you would prefer to pay your diploma by direct debit, select the cart below. You can pay £120 deposit, followed by 12 x £120 monthly payments. (We will contact you with direct debit arrangements) – £120:


Although all your course material will be available online; if you would also like a paper copy of the certificate course material, select the cart below for 9 unit Diploma course material (paper copy) – £75:


Certificate (6 to 9 unit) ‘Upgrade’ – additional 3 units

If you already have 6-unit BTEC Award, you can upgrade to the next level by completing only 3 additional units

Click ‘Add to cart’ below to add 6 to 9 unit upgrade  – £550 full payment (incl. BTEC reg fee upgrade)

Select the cart below, if you would prefer to pay your upgrade by direct debit. You can pay £100 deposit, followed by 10 x £50 monthly payments. (We will contact you with direct debit arrangements) – £100 deposit

Note your BTEC registration will be upgraded, and is now included in the above price


*Full Certificate title is: BTEC Level 3 Certificate in Advanced Manufacturing Engineering (Development Technical Knowledge(BTEC NQF)

*Full qualification title – Pearson BTEC Level 3 Foundation Award in Advanced Manufacturing Engineering (Development Technical Knowledge)

(Note: these qualifications have replaced the older QCF 9-unit diploma)

These qualifications are supported by:
● the Advanced Engineering and Manufacturing Apprenticeship Employer Group, which includes, Jaguar Land Rover, Toyota, Ford, BMW, Vauxhall, Aston Martin, Nissan, GTA England
● the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) professional society for the engineering and technology community
● the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) professional engineering institution
● Semta, the Sector Skills Council for the Engineering sector
● the National Forum of Engineering Centres (NFEC).

For further information on this qualification see

Each unit is further split into bite sized topics to make studying easier via our online Moodle education platform. You will be have 2 assessments for each unit. The above now prices include the Pearson/Edexcel BTEC registration fee. If you have specific unit requirements which are different than those listed above, please indicate these on your  enrolment form and discuss with your tutor.