BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Mechanical Engineering (12-unit)

BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Mechanical Engineering (12-unit) gives you the knowledge, understanding and skills that are need to prepare for employment such as a mechanical technician, workshop machinist  or for higher qualifications. 

Course Code: L3E-AME12M (DCJM7)
Course and BTEC reg. fee: £1745.00
Format: On-line distance learning
Award: BTEC Level 3 Diploma in  Engineering – 12 unit – Mechanical pathway*
Accreditation: Pearson
Study Time / Duration: Flexible –  up to 720 Hours / 48 months
Requirements: Age: 18+ Yrs

In 2013, the UK government began to reform skills training,  with the aim of making them more rigorous and responsive to employers’ needs. Pearson (Edexcel) has been working closely with employer groups, referred to as Trailblazers, in the development of technical knowledge at BTEC level 3. These qualifications were designed to meet the requirements of an engineering apprenticeship and also to prepare students for progression to a range of higher education programmes. Under government business and educational rules, these qualifications have been designed to be:

  • relevant to individuals and employers and affordable for all sizes of business and for individuals
  • rigorous and based on a robust future-looking occupational standard designed and assessed by the sector
  • recognised as worthy of investment, giving a clear signal of the economically valuable skills, knowledge and understanding required in an occupation now and in the future.

Tecol has now been accredited by Pearson to offer these BTEC qualifications including this new 12-unit diploma (NQF), which is an alternative to the older 12-unit diploma (QCF). This new course provides a greater choice of technical units and progression paths, such as HNC/D

BTEC Level 3 Diploma (12 Unit course)- Up to 96 UCAS points – Qualification number (QN): 601/9054/1, 

The qualifications give learners the opportunity to:
● develop core skills in  communication, mathematics, health and safety in the engineering workplace
● develop the technical knowledge, understanding and skills required to meet the needs of the learner/employer
● achieve a nationally-recognised Level 3 qualification.

The 5 core units are:

Plus 7 technical units from the list below

Including either


Also under future development (depending on demand)

  • (17) Fabrication Processes and Technology
  • (25) Engineering Maintenance Procedures and Techniques
  • (40) Industrial Robot Technology
  • (22) Computer-aided Manufacturing*
  • (35) Setting and Proving Secondary Processing Machines*

*Requires access to appropriate workshop equipment

Select ‘Add to cart’ below to start your 12-unit BTEC L3 Diploma in Engineering£1745 full payment

If you would prefer to pay your 12-unit Diploma by direct debit, select the cart below. You can pay £120 deposit, followed by 15 x £120 monthly payments. (We will contact you with direct debit arrangements):

3 unit upgrade  to 12-unit BTEC L3 Diploma in Engineering

If you already have already completed 9 units  such as those listed above, you may be able to upgrade to a BTEC 12-unit Diploma by completing only 3 additional units. These may be core, technical or a mix of units depending on your current qualifications

Click ‘Add to cart’ below to add 3 units to upgrade from 9 to 12 units – £550 full payment

Click ‘Add to cart’ below, if you would prefer to pay your upgrade by direct debit. You can pay £100 deposit, followed by 10 x £50 monthly payments. (We will contact you with direct debit arrangements) – £100 deposit

Each unit is further split into bite sized topics to make studying easier via our online Moodle education platform. You will be have 2 assessments for each unit. The above prices include the Edexcel BTEC registration fee.

*Full  title is: BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Advanced Manufacturing Engineering (Development Technical Knowledge) Mechanical Engineering Pathway (BTEC NQF)

These qualifications are supported by:
● the Advanced Engineering and Manufacturing Apprenticeship Employer Group, which includes, Jaguar Land Rover, Toyota, Ford, BMW, Vauxhall, Aston Martin, Nissan, GTA England
● the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) professional society for the engineering and technology community
● the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) professional engineering institution
● Semta, the Sector Skills Council for the Engineering sector
● the National Forum of Engineering Centres (NFEC).

For further information on this qualification see