L4 Higher National Certificate in Digital Technologies

‘The new BTEC Higher National qualifications in Digital Technologies are designed to address an increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at Levels 4 and 5, providing students with a clear line of sight to employment or progression to further higher education study’. (Pearson)


Course Code: L4D- HDPX5
Course & Registration Fee: £2750 Now £2195 (or £110 monthly)
Format: On-line
Award: BTEC Level 4 HNC in Digital Technologies
Accreditation: Pearson – BTEC Level 4
Duration: Flexible – up to 32 months
Requirements: Minimum Age: 18

HNC in Digital Technologies

We know digital skills are becoming ever more important in today’s economy, and employers indicate that about one-third of vacancies they find difficult to fill are, to some degree, attributable to a lack of appropriate digital skills amongst applicants. Specific digital skills are key to unlocking opportunities for job seekers and addressing the shortage of digitally skilled workers in the UK

The top 10 most crucial digital skills:
  • Social Media
  • Digital Marketing
  • Project Management
  • Programming, Web and App Development
  • Software engineering
  • Digital Project Management
  • Data Science and Data Analytics
  • Digital Business Analysis
  • Digital Design and Data Visualisation

This course aims to help address this skills issue by offering fully accredited BTEC Higher National qualification to those who developing their career or those who wish to transfer and upskill into digital technology work. Working with Pearson we now offer:

  • An education pathway, progressing HNC (level 4) qualifications to HND (level 5) and degree (level 6).
  • UK companies, the option of training and upskilling existing staff to meet the challenges of a changing environment and opportunities offered by digital transformation.

Course Modules

This HNC 8-unit course offers a balanced programme of core digital skills such as programming, security and databases with digital transformation knowhow for businesses based on the units below:

  1. Professional Practice in the Digital Economy (Unit D1)
  2. Innovation and Digital Transformation (Unit D2)
  3. Cyber Security (Unit D3)
  4. Programming (Unit D4)
  5. Big Data & Visualisation (Unit D5)
  6. Database Design & Development (Unit D10)
  7. Website Design & Development (Unit D16)
  8. Project Management (Unit D18)

Each unit is further split into bite sized topics to make studying easier via our online Moodle education platform. You will be have 2 assessments for each unit. To find out more on their content, simply click on each unit above.

TECOL may also optionally  provide learners, with no previous program/analytical skills, with bridging to units (e.g. D4, D5, D10, D16) at no extra cost to ensure they are prepared to complete the course.

Entry Qualifications

Should be one of the following:

  • Ideally holding a Level 3 qualification with technical subjects
  • Holds a higher level qualification such as a degree
  • Working in a technology, computing, business or IT environment, without formal qualifications but with relevant experience

Students must also be a UK resident and non-native English should have a relevant English qualification.

Payment Options

To get started and enrolled please select payment choice (all prices include BTEC registration fee):

Full Payment: £2195 single payment*

Add to cart

21 Month Payment Plan:  £110 deposit followed by 21 monthly payments of £110*

Add to cart

10 Month Payment Plan: £210 deposit followed by 10 monthly payments of  £210*

Add to cart

* We will contact you with direct debit arrangements


After completing your HNC, TECOL is planing to provide a progression route, by offering an HND (Level 5) in Digital Technologies with the following units:

    • Unit 19: Business Intelligence
    • Unit 20: Internet of Things
  • Unit 21: Emerging Technologies
  • Unit 25: Information Security Management in the Cloud
  • Unit 27: Advanced Programming
  • Unit 30: Business Information Technology Systems
  • Unit 32: Digital Technology as a Catalyst for Change
  • Unit 36: Application Development