Higher Nationals (HNC/HND) in Engineering

What is a BTEC Higher National?

BTEC Higher Nationals are higher education qualifications, recognised as equivalent to the first two years of an honours degree. They have been carefully designed for students who want:

  1. To gain recognition through higher education level study (with progression to the final year of an honours degree)
  2. An industry recognised qualification, providing the skills and experience to support their progression in employment.


Where can a BTEC Higher National take you?

Whether you’re looking for work, currently in employment, or going onto the final year of a university degree, both Tecol and Pearson/Edexcel are dedicated to creating opportunities to help you, once you have completed your qualification:

Pearson/Edexcel work with universities in the UK and around the world, explaining the content, structure and purpose of BTEC Higher National qualifications, so that the universities recognise your value and accept applications from you as a BTEC Higher National holder onto a degree programme. All of our HNC/Ds are to the latest RQF standard and are fully accredited by Pearson (Edexcel). To download BTEC HN Engineering specification go to: Engineering | BTEC Higher Nationals | Pearson qualifications

Note: Since 2017, the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) replaced the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) for HNC/D in Engineering courses. The RQF has made it easier for qualifications to be designed in direct accordance with market needs, essentially providing more relevant qualifications to learners, which should in turn make them more attractive to employers.


What are my next steps?

If you have completed an appropriate level 3 course and are interested in studying a BTEC Higher National Qualification, then spend some time researching the course and subject or unit that you are interested in.

Tecol offer three  HNC (level 4) engineering courses, which have 8 units, and three  HND (level 5) engineering courses, which has a total of 15 units. However you can complete these in 2 steps – HNC first, then HND second.

To find out more about our HNC/D courses select

Level 4 HNC Engineering courses

Level 5 HND Engineering courses