L5 – Higher National Diploma (HND) in Engineering

BTEC Level 5  (RQF)

These HND courses has been developed to provide learners an opportunity to gain a fully accredited higher education qualification.   Our on-line HNDs are nationally recognised Level 5 vocationally-specific qualifications that also allow you to progress to higher qualifications such as a BTEC level 6 Degrees  in Engineering. All our HNDs are to the latest fully accredited RQF standard. However, learners with older QCF HNC qualifications can easily be mapped to the newer RQF standard and upgraded to their preferred HND engineering qualification.

Available On-line HND Engineering Diplomas (RQF)

Qualification Title: Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Diploma in Engineering

Qualification Number: 603/0451/0

For details about approved BTEC level 5 HND engineering courses, click on the following pathways:

  1. General Engineering
  2. Mechanical Engineering
  3. Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  4. Manufacturing
  5. Operations

HND Course prices – see individual pathways above

*  If you are upgrading from the older QCF HNC (pre 2017), you will need to be mapped to the new HND and have to complete some additional or parts of HNC units and will be provided a total of up to 48 months support

(for more details see https://qualifications.pearson.com/content/dam/pdf/BTEC-Higher-Nationals/General-Engineering/2017/forms-and-administration/56479_HNC_Engineering_Mapping.pdf )

To find out your payment plan and have your existing QCF HNC mapped please contact us at admin@tecol.co.uk

Individual HN units can also be purchased at a cost of £345/unit please contact us at admin@tecol.co.uk to order

Entry requirements

For full HND courses, you must have an existing

  • BTEC Level-3 Eng. 6 unit (Merit)
  • BTEC Level-3 Eng. 9 unit  (Pass)
  • BTEC Level-3 Eng. 3 unit  and 1 A/AS level
  • NVQ Level-3 Eng. and Level-3 bridging units*
  • appropriate STEM A/AS levels or equivalent

(normally we require at least 32 UCAS points; for bridging unit details see HNC webpages).

The BTEC Level 5 HND in Engineering upgrade course option require you to mainly study level-5 units, providing you already have an appropriate HNC in Engineering. We have 2 upgrade routes depending if your HNC is  to the current RQF standard or the older QCF standard, which requires level-4 unit mapping as specified by Pearson (Edexcel)

Students must also be a UK resident and non-native English speakers should have one of the following qualifications or equivalent:

  • Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) level B2
  • PTE 51
  • IELTS 5.5; Reading

If you don’t meet the entry requirements but have paid, a full refund will be given, along with advice on your possible progression options

Note all course prices include BTEC registration fee